Welcome to the World of Reading

Welcome fellow readers! I hope you enjoy some of the popular books I have reviewed for you. I hope you take some of these books into consideration. May your journey through the knowledge of reading be as exciting as life. Happy Reading!!!!!

Monday, December 20, 2010

The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, #1)The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan was a spectacular novel of action, mythology, family, and a touch of romance. I had read so many of Riordan's books so far and I couldn't wait to read this one. I was very interested in this book because I can't wait to see how he incoorporates new characters into the world of demigods.

This book is about three people all in the Wilderness School named Piper, Jason and Leo.

Piper is a very persuasive girl who always gets people to give her whatever she wants. But now she is confused on why her boyfriend, Jason, doesn't remember her and why she is being taken to a camp called Camp Half-Blood.

Leo has had a very mysterious past, with having his mom die in a fire, and having a baby sitter who has tried to kill him. But now he is being taken to Camp Half-Blood where hopefully he will find some answers.

Jason has no memory of anything. He just seems to know stuff about mythology and other stuff like how to kill a monster in a second and how to fly. He doesn't remember his past or why he has random friends that he doesn't even know.

These three kids are special. They are part of the Great Prophecy and they are on a quest to save a godess named Hera. Will they survive. Or will all of Olympus crash?

After reading this book I felt so excited for the next book to come out and I felt so relieved for Jason, Leo , and Piper. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves Percy Jackson and loves mythology.

View all my reviews

Friday, November 26, 2010

The Best School Year EverThe Best School Year Ever by Barbara Robinson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Best School Year ever is a hilarious, cute, and funny book that kids all over a bound to enjoy. The Herdman kids are back in school and everyone knows that if there is trouble there is a Herdman involved somewhere. This book tells the tales of the mischief these kids are creating with their crazy pranks, destructive animals, and well almost every bad prank multiplied by 1000. But is there some kind of mystery behind these pranks? A way of sharing the Herdman kid's characteristics and qualities? Join the Herdman kids as they take you through an adventure of pure mischief and destruction. This book is a trouble-makers dream.

View all my reviews

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Bamboo PeopleBamboo People by Mitali Perkins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bamboo People is about a war between the Burmese people and the Karenni people. When two soliders named Chiko and Tu-Reh, from opposite sides of the war meet unexpectedly, they are forced to work together to keep Chiko alive after stepping on a land mine. Their unlikely friendship is what makes the whole book go round. This book contains the characteristics of love, compassion, patriotism, war, injury, friendship and so much more. Your in for a real treat with this book.

View all my reviews
The DreamerThe Dreamer by Pam Muñoz Ryan

The Dreamer is a compassionate story about a young boy named Reftali who sees the world differently than others. You might even call him an explorer of life if you will. Reftali has a father who is very strict and thinks that he is worth nothing at all. He thinks he is a worthless, skinny little thing that has no chance of a future. As Reftali grows up he develops a love for writing story's. He starts to work for his uncle's newspaper and soon gets a writing scholarship to a university. Reftali must face his father a lay down the law if he is going to ever be happy as his life goes on. What will father say? Join Reftali as he goes through a rough time and how he over comes it. This book I think is going to be the next Newberry Honor award. When you pick up this book your in for a journey through love and compassion for what you do.

View all my reviews

Monday, October 11, 2010

The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon, #2)The Lost City of Faar by D.J. MacHale

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was a heck of a lot better than the first. At least that's what I thought. We pick off right where Bobby has finally woken up from his nap. He goes back to his house to find out that all there is, is an empty lot. There is no sign that Bobby had ever lived here. His family is gone and his home is gone. So now he is going with his Uncle Press to the territory of Cloral. Cloral is where Saint Dane has gone and now Press and Bobby are on their way there. When they reach they see that there is no mortal terror that has arrived. Yet. Soon enough, all of Cloral's crops have been poisoned. And the only way to stop this disease, is to find the missing city of Faar. Will Bobby save Cloral's population, or will all of Cloral die out? Like I said before, this book is a lot better than the first. D.J MacHale has captured the reader's attention and now, more than ever, MacHale has sucked me and many others into the world of Pendragon.

View all my reviews
11 Birthdays11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Amanda is about to turn eleven. She is so excited about everything. Except for one thing. This will be the first time she doesn't spend her birthday with Leo. Leo was her best friend until last year when he said he wasn't her friend behind Amanda's back. So the next morning, she wakes up to a new day. Or is she? Her birthday seems to be repeating itself over and over again. Is there a way to stop it? I liked this book. I thought that it was fairly well written and i think that younger kids will love this book a lot.

View all my reviews
Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of LifeJeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Jeremy Fink is about to turn thirteen but isn't quite sure that he has what it takes to be a teenager. He isn't really out going and he doesn't really like surprises. His best friend Lizzy, is the total opposite of that. She is an extrovert and loves to do anything adventurous. When a mysterious box arrives at Jeremy's door, he is surprised to find out that ihe is supposed to open it on his birthday. This box says that is contains the meaning of life! But the keys are missing to open the box. Jeremy and Lizzy go on an adventure to find the missing keys and learn the meaning of life. Wendy Mass is wonderful. This was the first book I had read by her and I must say that she is one of my favorite authors. I hope you enjoy just as much as I did.

View all my reviews

Saturday, October 9, 2010

The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, #1)The Angel Experiment by James Patterson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Maximum Ride was a well-written, sci-fi book that will excite the readers of those who love experiments. And DNA transfers. Actually that's what this whole book revolves around. Meet Max, Gasman, Fang, Angel, Izzy, and Nudge. They are all one big, normal family. Not. They may be family but they are 4 percent bird. Shortly after the birth of these six children, scientists implanted DNA from birds into these children. These people now are living on their own trying to survive and not get caught by the Erasers. Unfortunately, Angel happened to get caught, and now, everyone is on the run trying to get Angel back. Will they survive? This book is great for anyone who needs a twist on the classic sci-fi stories.

View all my reviews
The Merchant of Death (Pendragon, #1)The Merchant of Death by D.J. MacHale

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Pendragon is a fast-paced, action-packed novel filled with every ounce of detail combined to create a magnificent book. Pendragon is about a young boy named Bobby who's Uncle Press, is not you average uncle. He is a traveler, meaning that he travels to different territories through flumes. What Bobby doesn't know is that he is also a traveler. When Bobby's uncle shows up at his house one day he takes him through a flume into the territory of Denduron. In Denduron there is trouble and Bobby is the one who is supposed to save civilization. If he doesn't all the territories will fall into destruction. Will Bobby be the one to save the world? Or will he let it all tumble down? This book is truly amazing. Even those middle school boys who say that reading is for nerds will love Pendragon. Pendragon is the next big thing.

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Shooting KabulShooting Kabul by N.H. Senzai

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Shooting Kabul is probably one of the most loving and compassionate novels I have ever read. A family living in Afghanistan during the time when the Afghans and the Soviet Union were at war. With the Taliban threatening everyone, Fadi's family decides to leave Afghanistan illegally. They travel to Jalalabad to catch a ride to Peshawar, Pakistan. When the truck arrives to take them to Peshawar, Maraim, Fadi's little sister, is left behind, due to Fadi's mistake of letting go of her hand. The rest of the family makes it safely but they are worried about Mariam.

After a couple of weeks later Fadi joins a photo club where a competition takes place. It includes a photo shoot in India or Africa. Fadi uses this as his chance to get Mariam back and reclaim his honor. Will he succeed, or will his honor be lost forever?

View all my reviews

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

SmileSmile by Raina Telgemeier

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book. It puts a classic twist on the normal braces issue. Raina is a normal sixth grader who just wants to live a normal life. Even though she is getting braces she wants to at least try to have fun. But one night when racing her friends, she falls down and knocks out all her teeth. Now she has to deal with even more problems. Raina has a great personality and has a great mind. Even though she went through some pretty tough times she was strong and pushed right through. I loved the book and my sister loved the book and I hope you love it too. ENJOY!!!!!! :) :) :)

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Mockingbird by Kathryin Erskine

This book was very good but also very sad. It is about a girl named Caitlin who is diagnosed with Aspergers symtom. She was very close to her brother Devon. But when Devon, was shot in a school shooting, Caitlin and her dad are having a hard time with the loss of Devon. They are never happy and her Dad is always crying, begging for Devon to come back. But when Caitlin finds something that may help her family, she will stop at nothing to recover her family. Watch as these two people find a way to becoming a family again.

The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)The Maze Runner by James Dashner

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Maze Runner is a fast paced action novel that stimulates your imagination. In the story, a boy named Thomas has been sent to the Glade where many other people have been sent with their memories wiped. They are all trapped here in the Glade where if the Gladers can make it out of the Maze they can return home. The next day after Thomas's arrival, a girl shows up. She is the only girl here and everyone has become suspicious of Thomas. Will Thomas regain his memory? Or is he stuck here forever? In this story of action you will find that it gives readers a nice book to read after reading the Hunger Games series.

View all my reviews

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson

"With the first cup of tea, you are a stranger, with the second cup of tea you are a friend, and with the third cup of tea you are family." - Haji Ali

In the inspiring book of Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson, is about one man's journey to making a difference one child at a time. Greg Mortenson is a mountain climber and works as an emergency room nurse. Greg was climbing the second tallest mountain in the world, K2 in Pakistan in honor of his sister Christa. But when one of his fellow climbers falls ill, Greg and his friend climb back down the mountain to save their friend. They try to climb back up but they get lost along the way. Instead of going south back down the mountain they end up going north back up the mountain. When they meet Mouzafer, a porter that will help them guide them back down the mountain, Greg gets lost again and is once again saved by Mouzafer. But once Greg has reached the base camp, there is a fork in the road one leading to the city which will take him directly back to the airpport. But Greg chooses the wrong road and ends up in a village called Korphe. He is greeted by the chief of the village, Haji Ali. Greg meets most of the children there and he asks Haji Ali, where the kids get an education. Haji Ali guides them to the place where the learning takes place. There are only four girls within the forty-five boys in the classroom. The teacher only shows up three times a week for an hour a day. Greg is horrified by the education these children are getting so he makes a promise, " I will build you a school." This man changes the life of many children with the help of Greg Mortenson.

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Harry Potter Fan News

Hey all you Harry Potter fans!!! I have some exciting news to share with you!!!! I am currently reading the fourth book of the Harry Potter series!!! YAY!!! That's not the exciting news though. Firt of all, I don't know if you have heard that the 7th Harry Potter movie is going to be split into two movies. Second of all, you guys may or may not have heard about the new Harry Potter ride that has just come out in the Universal's Island of Adventure!!!! They have actually built Hogwarts and the wizard village of Hogsmeade to life!! I can't wait to check it out!!!!!! Take the flying tour of the whole place here!!!!!!

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Possible Books to Review

Today I received five books from a school librarian for possible review, here's a look inside two of them.

A Nest for Celeste by Henry Cole

Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce

Browse Inside this book
Get this for your site

An Interview with Andrew Clements

Friday, April 23, 2010

A Mango Shaped Space

A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Mass is about a girl who has synesthesia. Well what is synesthesia? Synesthesia is a disorder of the colors and senses so when ever you hear sounds, see letters, numbers, and words colors show up in your very eyes. This girl is named Mia. Well, Mia has never told any one about this disorder. EVER. She didn't even know why she had synesthesia. The only person, well animal actually, she can talk to about it is Mango. Mango is her cat, the one that she found right after grandpa's death. She saw him looking at her four feet away with those sad eyes that make you want to hold the cat and never let go of it. His fur is gray and has dark gray streaks. He has always had a lung issue where one of his ribs is pushing into his lung. Well, I guess you know what happened to the cat. Mia adopted him She named him Mango because of the mango colored streaks he has any time he moves, breaths anything. Well now Mia's parents are concerned about her grades so Mia tells her parents about her problem They laugh like it's a big joke. They stop. They stare. They cry. Soon enough, Mia's whole life changes once this secret comes out after so many years. Follow Mia on her way to an easier life as she goes through many rough times throughout the book. I got this book on my Mom's Kindle and I read it. Oh yeah, it was good. My gosh, what a rough life she has had and to finally tell her parents after so many years. If you choose to read this and you like it, please look in back of the book. It explains all about synesthesia and where you can learn more about it. Enjoy this compassionate tale of one girl's struggle through this time in her life.

Buy it now!!!!

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Finally by Wendy Mass

Finally by Wendy Mass is a well written story about an average pre-teen girl named Rory Swenson who is about to turn twelve. Everything is supposed to be great from this point on. She can finally have a cell phone, she can finally get a pet, she can finally do her homework without her parents checking it, and many more other privileges that most twelve year olds have. At the same time a movie is going to be shot at their school with the most popular celebrity ever. With the filming going on and Rory's new privileges everything should seem perfect right? Wrong. Everything she has ever wanted gets messed up so horribly wrong that she looks like a fool at school. This book is a great read for those who enjoy a nice contemporary realistic fiction book. I found this book so funny an hilarious it made me laugh out loud. I was actually reading this while on spring break and it really was a great book. It had all of the things kids go through when being in middle school. Please give this book a try and who knows, you may enjoy it even more than you thought.

Want it? Buy it now!!!!

Monday, March 22, 2010

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

The Mysterious Benedict Society By Trenton Lee Stewart is a tale that involves the smartest of them all. Meet Reynie Muldoon. He is the type of kid that has a brain for solving puzzles and who also is an orphan. Meet Kate Wetherall. She is the acrobatic type of person ever since she joined the circus after her dad left her. Meet Sticky Washington (aka. George). You may be wondering why his name is called Sticky. Well here's why. Any time Sticky reads a book, every little piece of knowledge just seems to stick in his head. He soon ran away from his parents after they put way too much pressure on him. Meet Constance Contraire. She is a little stubborn kid who also is an orphan. As you can see they all are orphans who passed Mr. Benedict's tests. Now they are all on a secret mission to try and find out who is making all of these secret messages in the news broadcasts. It is now up to the Mysterious Benedict Society to crack this code and save the world from danger. I enjoyed this very well written book. I loved the way everything just sort of flows together. When you see these kids journeys through this dangerous mission, it is interesting to see how each and everyone's gift applies in some way. I am so grateful for my friend for suggesting this book to me. I absolutley loved it and I hope you like this adventerous, mystery like book. Enjoy!!!!!

Like how sounds, get now!

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

If a Tree Fell During Lunch Period by Gennifer Choldenko

If a Tree Fell During Lunch Period by Gennifer Choldenko is a story taking place in a middle school setting. This book is written in two different peoples perspectives named Walk and Kirsten. Kirsten is overweight, not exactly what you would call popular, and what she thinks she is, stupid. Kirsten's parents fight so much and sometimes it gets so out of hand no one can even stay in the same room. Her sister Kippy is a math wiz and loves science. She always reads books and never watches T.V. Walk is black, has no dad, and has been transfered to Mountain because of a scholarship he got. His mom is named Sylvia is a mother who misses her ex-husband and has decided to have a family of her own after he left. When Kirsten and Walk meet, it is not exactly what you would call two magnets sticking together. When Kirsten over hears her mom and dad fighting about her dad having a son, she starts to develop ideas. Will these two seventh graders ever have a normal life again? This book is really interesting because it talks all about fitting in and how sometimes the nicest popular people can also cause a heck of a lot of trouble. And when it comes to Walk's case, just because he is black doesn't mean that everyone can treat him like he is garbage. But this all gets so complicated when the secret creeps into their lives.

Buy it now!!!!

Saturday, March 6, 2010

The Twilight Prisoner: 2nd book of The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh

The Twilight Prisoner by Katherine Marsh, is the sequel to The Night Tourist. Jack is back and has now settled into his new life in New York. He is on the Latin Club and has two friends named Cora and Austin. When Jack decides to ask Cora and Austin to hang out, he takes them to a passage way under ground. They meet up with Euri and find out that they may never be able to get out. With Cora's mom sick and Austin on the loose how will these friends find a way to get out. This book is full of surprises that will make you think differently about many of the charaters. This book to me wasn't as good as the first but defineltly complimented the first book very well. With all of the different surprises that make you want to jump out of your seat, it gave the book some seasoning making the whole meal taste even better. Jack also grows so much as a person. He becomes some one totally different by coming out of his shel and taking more risks. This book is interesting and I hope you will enjoy it too.

Buy it Now!!!!

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh

The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh, is a tale about a boy named Jack. He is a high school boy who also helps his dad at a university. When Jack wanders into a street and gets hit by a car, he is put into a hospital. After he is discharged he meets a doctor who wants to tell him something but doesn't until later. Jack then goes and does a little sight seeing in New York and meets her. He meets Euri, a girl with some huge secrets. Soon enough he realizes that she is a ghost. He asks her to help him find his mom who died after getting hit by a platform. Soon enough this journey becomes a journey through time uncovering secrets that Jack never knew about his family. What really happened to his mom? This book was recommended by my old librarian at my old school. He said that this book was really good and that I should give it a try. It was amazing. Very interesting and it kept me on the edge of my seat. This book contains secrets and surprises that will give you trickles down your spine.

Buy It Now!!!!

The Boy Who Dared by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

The Holocaust. The most harsh, cruel time for world. Helmuth struggles with in this tragic situation. Helmuth is a young German kid who used to believe that Hitler was the best. He wanted to be just like Hitler. He cared so much Germany and felt the need to serve as a solider when he got older. But now time has passed and all he wants to do is scream at Hitler. Helmuth decides to do what is against the law. He listens to BBC, the British radio and proves that RRG, the German radio, is all lies. Then he decides to do the most boldest act of all. Post leaflets about Hitler and his terrible leadership and his inhumane acts. Will this take him to a victory, or to jail? This book is actually based on a real story about a Hitler Youth. Some people may find it boring but you can't judge a book by it's cover. And that is exactly what I thought at first. But once I really got into the book, it started to talk to me. I started to get this connection with the character and I started to feel what he felt. I started to finally understand the hardships of not only the Jews, but also the Germans. I thought that this heart warming story will warm the hearts of so many more. Helmuth was the boy who dared to go against the entire Nazi people and Hitler. The Boy Who Dared by Susan Campbell Bartoletti. is a story you will never forget.

Buy it now!!!!!!!

Monday, March 1, 2010

Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements

Have you ever woken and seen that you weren't there. I mean you look in the mirror and your aren't there. Like you're invisible. Yeah you say it can't happen, but it can. It happened to Bobby Phillips. Meet Bobby Phillips, a fifteen year old kid living in Chicago , IL. He has a dad who can only talk in theories for everything and his mom is a literature freak. But then came a situation who really can not fix. It all started after the shower. He woke up and wiped the fog off the mirror and he wasn't there. He kept looking and he realized that it was what wasn't what he saw in the mirror. He wasn't there. One accidental mistake and Bobby's whole life was turned upside down. His parents couldn't believe it. They let him stay home from school that first day and that's when he meets Alicia. Alicia is blind. She has a keen sense of smell, taste, and touch and soon enough, Bobby and Alicia become friends. When Alicia realizes that he is invisible, Alicia wants to help him. Soon enough, the police are involved. How far will Bobby and Bobby's friends and family go to solve this problem? At first when you read this it sounds really stupid, but in the end this book is actually about friendships and how even though people are totally different, you can still have a friendship and I think that that is what counts in the end. So if you ever get a chance try Things Not Seen, by Andrew Clements. You may never know it might just change your perspective of things.

Buy it Now!!!!

An Interview with Andrew Clements

Saturday, February 27, 2010

The Alchemist by Michael Scott

The Alchemist, by Michael Scott, is a story that has mixed elements of magic, alchemy, and sorcery. Meet Nicholas Flamel, a famous alchemist from the 1400's. He is married to Perenelle Flamel, a sorceress, who has the power to talk to ghosts. Now the Book of Abraham the Mage, has a prophecy that requires two twins with the auras of the sun and the moon. Since, Nicholas and Perenelle have the power of immortality, these two set off on a quest to find the two twins and train them to prepare to fight against the forces of evil. Now we come to the evil villain character. His name is Dr. John Dee, a magician. Dee was once Flamel's student in alchemy and he knows all of the tricks that others don't know. He has always wanted to take over the world of alchemy and magic(like any other villain I know) and the only way to do that is to confiscate the Book of Abraham the Mage from Flamel's grasp. In the twenty first century, meet Josh and Sophie, twins. When Josh witnesses a magical war event taking place in the book store, Flamel realizes that he and his sister are the twins of the prophecy. Follow Flamel on his magical adventure to getting the twins out of danger and into the world of magic and alchemy. Okay, so many of you may think that I and am talking about that boring old adult book The Alchemist. No, I would never read that boring book at all. So now I have enlightened you with a book that will suck you into a magical world of realms and alchemy. Please enjoy this tale, because I personally enjoyed it very much. It actually made me want to read during dinner and
other special occasions. Yeah, my parents put it in their room so I wouldn't read it during school or anything. Didn't quite work though. Well may this book be as much fun as a roller coaster to you as it was to me.

Buy it now!!!!

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Four Truths and a Lie by Lauren Barnholdt

Four Truths and a Lie by Lauren Barnholdt, is a story about an eigth grade girl named Scarlett Northon. She has just transfered to an all girls school where she will be living for the time being.Her room mate is snotty miss Crissa know-it-all with her popularity and cool life. Her ONLY best friend is Amber and she was forced to be on the school basketball team But the only reason she had to transfer from her beautiful life, school, and friends was because of the secret. Yeah, we're talking big-time secret, like, no one can possibly EVER know under ANY circumstances. One day in language arts, her teacher assigns everyone a penpal from the other school for boys. Her penpal is number seventeen and her first letter from him is a normal welcome letter. It's the second letter that gets a little crazy. The first sentence is Welcome to Four Truths and a Lie. Just from this one letter takes Scarlett from a new girl to a possibly expelled girl. How will things turn out? I got this book for my book club at school and I thought it was going to be one of those bratty girl goes to boarding school type dramas. But when I started reading it, it actually took me by surprise. Scarlett isn't really a brat and she moves not because of being a brat with no manners but a girl with a secret that happens to have ruined her life sociably and acedemically. I didn't mind Scarlett's personaality but it was like she knew every brand and every latest shoe or whatever. But I still enjoyed the book. Give it a try. You may never know, it just might surprise you like it did with me.

Buy it Now!!!

Warriors: Into the Wild by Erin Hunter

Warriors by Erin Hunter, is a series about cats. Yes cats. But not just any cats, special cats. These cats live in the forest and have four clans called, Thunder Clan, Wind Clan, River Clan, and Shadow Clan. Now there is a fifth called Star Clan that contains cats that have died. Now that you know the way of the Warriors, let's begin our tale. This tale starts with a cat named Rusty. He is a pet cat that has strange dreams about being in the forest and living the wild life as they say. One day when Rusty escapes from the forest, a Thunder Clan cat finds him and brings him to Bluestar, the leader of the Clan. She gives him the name Firepaw and allows him to be part of the Clan.But Thunder Clan is in grave danger, and Shadow Clan is growing stronger, Bluestar asks for a prophecy. When Bluestar gets the prohecy that states: Fire alone can save the Clan, it can only mean Firepaw. Firepaw may just be the strongest warrior of them all and the one who can save them from falling to their knees. The first time I picked this book up was in third grade when one of my friends suggested it to me. It started out rough at first but then I started getting into the groove of the book then Bam!!! I read the entire series in a month. If you have a younger brother or sister or is in second or third grade, start this series and see how it goes. I hope you enjoy it.

Buy it here!!!!

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Every Soul a Star by Wendy Mass

Every Soul a Star by Wendy Mass is a book about real life problems and how everything turns out to be better than what they expected. The setting of this book is in the Moon Shadow campground where over one thousand people are coming to view the amazing eclipse. But the way the book is written, is what makes it interesting. This book is written in three different perspectives. You have Ally: a nature girl who's family owns the Moon Shadow campground and has a sharp brain for astronomy, Bree: a girl who is popular and gorgeous and cares only about appearance, and Jack: a lonely, kind of weird boy who never had many friends but is given an opportunity of a life time. When Ally has to move out of the Moon Shadow , Bree has to move in, and Jack gets to become a more extrovert person, these friends start to realize that change is always for the better. I loved this book. This book was picked by my dad at the book store and when I saw the cover I almost immediately wanted to start reading. And throughout the book it is amazing to see how Wendy Mass changes the characters perspectives of moving or becoming more of an extrovert. I have to say that I was really impressed when Mass described the eclipse. The way Bree's breath was taken away when she was watching. The way Ally realized that she still has a whole new world to explore. The way Jack knows that he is special and can have friends that don't think he's weird. This book truly expresses friendship, compassion, and unbelievably true events that change three peoples lives for ever.

Buy it Now!!!

Sunday, February 21, 2010

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is a science-fiction book. This book is about a sixteen year old girl named Katniss Everdeen and her sister Prim Everdeen live in District 12. Katniss is the girl who knows how to shoot an arrow so accurately she can shoot an arrow blind. She knows the right herbs to help cure a wound and the best edible plants around. She knows the difference between bad meat and good meat and knows how to pick non-poisonous berries. She is Hunger Game material. Reaping Day is the day where the people of District 12 and all of the other districts get kids 12 and older get picked to go to the annual Hunger Games. The Hunger Games are the games where the object of the game is to be the last one alive while the rest of the contestants are lying dead. When Katniss's sister gets picked to go to the Hunger Games, Katniss volunteers to take her place to save her sister's life. Her partner is non other than Peeta Mellark, the one who gave Katniss food to help her family from starving. Together, these to tributes will work as hard as they can to stay alive. Will they survive or will they fall to the ground dead? I really enjoyed this book. It has a little bit of everything in it. It has compassion, love, action, and many more essential elements that a book needs. The first person who recommended this book to me was actually my librarian at school. She said that if you wanted to stretch your range of genres, you should start with this sci-fi book. I said that I would definitely read it. And when I did, I couldn't put it down. My mom actually had to hide it from me so I could finish my homework. Also, if you have read the Twilight Saga by Stefanie Meyer, you will defiantly love this book. I hope you enjoy this fast paced book!!!

If you've read the first one, read the second one called Catching Fire

Buy it now

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats if Nimh by Robert C. O'Brien

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimhby Robert C. O'Brien is a tall tale with a bit of a twist. Mrs. Frisby, a mouse widow, has three sons and two daughters and every year they move from a winter home to a summer home so they don't get run over by the plow. On one unfortunate morning, Timothy falls so sick that he can't go anywhere. The bad thing about this is that it is during moving season. So Mrs. Frisby has no choice but to pay a visit to Dr. Ages, Timothy's doctor. Dr. Ages give her the medicine but says that Timothy must stay in bed under all circumstances. He says that the Rats of Nimh will be able to help you move, but first you must visit the Owl. Mrs. Frisby must visit the Rats or they will be in teribble danger. Follow Mrs. Frisby on her wild adventure to what might be the only chance to save her kids. When I first heard of this book, it was my dad who actually reccomended it to me. He said that he had read this book when he was my age so I took it into consideration. When I started reading it, the beginning didn't make to much sense to me, but after a while I realized what a genius Robert C. O'Brien is. It has a great plot structure, lots of interesting characters, and many surprises that will blow your mind away. Every night, I would sit in my bed wondering what was going to happen next. Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh is truly a book that will give you a reason to read.

Buy it now!!

Sunday, January 24, 2010

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selzinck is a mysterious story with strong characters always on alert for adventure. This story is about a kid named Hugo Cabret who's dad died in a fire at a museum in Paris, France. His caretaker was his uncle who worked the clocks in a train station in Paris and now Hugo lives within the grand clock in the station and has always kept his prize possession, his father's old notebook for automaton. He has been taking parts the toys at the toy booth down below. When the man that works at the toy booth catches him stealing some toys, he confiscates his notebook and goes home to burn it. Hugo needs to get that notebook back so he can complete his automaton. I really thought that this book had an amazing plot structure. It had great ideas and I think that Brian Selznick did a great job by putting those ideas into words that flow well. Within the book there are many pictures that give clues to what the automaton does and to what majority of the book is about. If you like books with a mystery involved in the plot with lots of love and compassion for what you believe in, this is the book for you.

Buy it here!!!!

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan is a book that is fast paced and full of adventure with a pinch of suspense. This book is about a young boy named Percy who has always had trouble in school and has had some anger management issues. When Percy unleashes strange and unusual powers, he is taken to Camp Half-Blood. Within the camp, he learns things about himself that will blow your mind. Personally, I thought that this book was a very well written book with lots of movement flowing throughout the book. There was lots of action, suspense, and heroic and epic endings. There were some negatives though. Within the time when Percy learns who he really is, the author can be unclear when explaining things. Altogether, I would give this book five stars. For people who love action, suspense, and mythology, this book has been written for you. Also, if you love this book be sure to checkout the rest of the series below.

The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan's Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, The Last Olympian

Buy the series Now!!!!!